A Wooly Tale

Paula The Needle Felted Polar Bear

25 Comments

A new home and a change in direction

The last time I saw you was probably over at blogger which was my old blogging home.  As so many people seem to use it and it is more flexible than wordpress (well without paying anyway)  I really wanted to give it a go.  It just wasn’t working for me though and definitely didn’t feel like my www home!  So, rather than struggle with it, I decided to move to wordpress and I must say,this feels much more like home so here I shall stay!

The last time you saw me I was also experimenting with combining needle felting and stationery. Again, this was something that didn’t seem to quite gel with me, so I took a break for a week or so to really think about what I wanted to concentrate on and develop as there just aren’t enough hours in the day to focus on both.  In the end, needle felting won!  I will still continue to make the odd card for friends and family but I would really like to get my  needle felting to a stage where I can make a small living with it!   Needle felting just makes me happier than card making does and I get a greater sense of satisfaction from it.  Plus, I feel that I am far better at it than I am at designing stationery!

Paula-The-Needle-Felted-Polar-Bear

That brings me nicely on to a project I am working on at the moment and wanted to share with you.  Everyone, please meet Paula the Polar Bear!   Unlike most Polar Bears Paula is actually incredibly friendly !  She loves tuna & Christmas,  hates mornings & hot weather  and is the reining North Pole snowball fight champion after narrowly beating Rudolph last year!

Paula the Needle Felted Polar Bear

Her body is needle felted from Norwegian C1 wool, her eyes and nose are Merino wool and her scarf is made from pre-felt.  She is still missing some gloves, a hat, some wellington boots and a snowball to play with before she goes to her new home (my fiancees family in Italy If I can ever bring myself to part with her) so I am sure this won’t be last you see of her!

To be very honest,  I had planned on showing you another project  but, 90% of the way through making it I realised I had made a big mistake so a few adjustments will have to be made… Don’t you just hate it when these things happen!! Apparently my other half spotted my mistake as soon as I made it but, for reasons known only to himself,  decided not to say anything.  I really wish he had though as maybe I could have salvaged the project far easier then than now grrrrrr! Oh well, I shall enjoy silently plotting his demise whilst trying to fix my mistake and will hopefully have something to show later in the week (it really is lovely!)

I am delighted to be joining in with Handmade Monday again this week which is hosted by Wendy over at Handmade Harbour and can’t wait to see what everyone else has been up to this week!

Thank you for stopping by & I hope to see you again soon!

Jo

25 thoughts on “Paula The Needle Felted Polar Bear

  1. Seems like you are having a bit of a clear out. I love wordpress but have never tried blogger…. Hope it works out for you over here. As for the crafting I think that you have to go with your heart. If you really enjoy it then I believe that will come through in your work. As for the Paula – well I wouldn’t want to get into a snowball fight with her!! (Love your character building, a real talent and very endearing for your makes.) Hope you have a great week (try not to be too unkind – just enough that he learns his lesson.) 🙂

  2. She’s an incredibly lovely polar bear. Glad you have found your online home! 🙂

  3. sounds like you’ve been making some well considered decisions… i’m sure they will stand you in good stead!

    your little polar bear is adorable and i look forward to seeing your mystery project soon 🙂 x

    • Thank you Natalie! The ‘Mystery Project’ had to be restarted unfortunately 😦 Hopefully I will have something to show soon though!

  4. Welcome Paula, you are a lovely Polar Bear. I have tried WordPress, but gave up on it as I couldn’t seem to get to grips with it – it is very popular, so perhaps I should re-think for my workshop blog. Hope you gave a good week.

    • Thank you Christmas Pie! I find WordPress much easier than blogger but then I have used it in the past! I guess it all depends on what you are used to

  5. Paula is so cute and love the story behind her

  6. Thank you Caroline!

  7. Aw, I love Paula! Don’t know how you will be able to send her off to Italy!

  8. I’ve made one needlefelted character and apart from the stabbed fingers, it’s a bit moreish isn’t it! A polar bear in Italy now that has to be unusual! I hope you manage to sort out your mistake, they can be so obvious when pointed out which makes it doubly annoying. Onwards and Upwards is my moto!

    • Ha ha, maybe she can set a world record as the first polar bear to reside in Italy – his family live near the alps so she should feel right at home with all the snow in the winter!

      The stabbed fingers seriously hurt don’t they, those needles are vicious!

  9. Paula is gorgeous, although she does have a bit of a ferocious look in her eyes so I would be careful of getting too close – perhaps it’s just because she’s waiting for those gloves and her hands are a little bit cold. xx

  10. Thank you t1ckledp1nk! She likes to give the impression that she is fierce (keeping up appearances and all that!) but I promise you she is a big softy! I think she is also waiting for her next snowball fight opponent to come along! 🙂

  11. Paula is lovely; I like your reasoning about sticking with the needle felting – it’s got to be better doing what you enjoy!

    • Thank you catkinjane! I enjoy both but I enjoy needle felting just that little more! I am comfortable with my decision, I just have to learn to stick with it and not and not drift between the two like I have been 🙂

  12. Paula looks very fearsome, but I bet she has a kind heart:) I haven’t tried needle felting, may it’s time I did. What are the rest of her family like?
    Wendy

    • She has a very kind heart Wendy! Sadly she doesn’t have a very big family, there is just her, her brother (who just happens to be the current paw skating champion) and her parents. She has no family of her own yet as she has dedicated her life to perfecting her snowball fighting career! Perhaps when the North Pole Olympics have finished (they only happen over 3 days – 24th,25th & 26th December 2012) she will retire and settle down…she is going to see how it goes!

  13. I love her big blue nose, she’s lovely.

    Jan x

  14. Thank you Jan! Her nose is supposed to be black but the cold turned it blue unforunately!

  15. Paula looks gorgeous. So soft and fuzzy.

  16. Thank you Soy of the north!

Leave a Reply

